Archive for December, 2008

Ricanstruction – Liberation Day

Monday, December 29th, 2008

Ricanstruction is a New York City based Puerto Rican punk/hip hop/salsa/jazz/reggae fusion musical group and artist collective. The band consists of lead vocalist Not4Prophet (also known as N4P, formerly known as Alano Baez, born in Ponce, Puerto Rico), bassist Arturo “R2O” Rodriguez, drummer Joseph “SickFoot” Rodriguez from Harlem, and guitarist Eddie “Alsiva” Alsina.

YouTube Preview Image

Radio Pirata – Angel de la Guarda

Monday, December 22nd, 2008

Radio Pirata was a Rock en Español band from Puerto Rico. Rucco Gandía formed the band in 1994. Radio Pirata spawned hits like “No Me Dejes Así” (Don’t Leave Me Like This) and “Historia Natural” (Natural History). They won a Tu Música award in 1995 for Best Record and a Gold Momo in 1996 for Best Local Rock Band. In 1998 they followed with their second album, “Todavía” (Still).

YouTube Preview Image

La Secta AllStar – Locura Automatica

Monday, December 15th, 2008

La Secta AllStar (or simply La Secta) is the most successful and important rock en Español band from Puerto Rico. The band members are Mark Kilpatrick (bass guitar), Gustavo Laureano (singer), John Lengel (drums), and Mikey Genao (guitar).

Sol D’Menta – Muy Tarde Ya

Monday, December 8th, 2008

Sol D’Menta (also known as Los Soles) is a rock en español band from Puerto Rico. The band is composed of Erick Seda Santana (“Jey”) on the bass guitar, Omar Abnel Hernández González (“Gulín, el Gallo”) on singing, Miguel “Tito” Rodríguez on guitar, and Ernesto José “Che” Rodríguez Soto on the drums.